The holy month of Ramadan started yesterday Monday 6th for over 1.2 billion Muslims all around the world.
Faithful Muslims will spend every day of the holy month fasting and praying from dawn to sunset, in order to purify the soul and get closer to God.
But what are the faithful allowed to eat during the Ramadan month? Basically, suhoor and iftar are the two main meals. Suhoor is consumed before dawn, while iftar is served after sunset.
The food prepared in each meal varies depending on the region. Generally, ingredients such as fresh fruits, halal meats, vegetables, cheese, breads and sweets are always present but every country has its own Ramadan specialties.
Dahi vada, for instance, is an Indian dish prepared with lentil dumplings soaked in a spicy yogurt sauce.
Chapatis is another Indian and Pakistani typical Ramadan meal, prepared with unleavened flatbread rolled up with vegetables and meats.
In Arab countries, instead, believers usually stop the fast with Fattoush, a salad prepared with vegetables and pita bread.
Ramadan is an important Islamic tradition, today still carried out from hundreds of millions Muslims all around the world. As the 2016 Ramadan month has just started we are wishing a “Ramadan Kareem” to all the Muslim community.